Mon. May 27th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

Patty Griffin to release lost album ‘Silver Bell’ (US)

1 min read

Patty Griffin recorded Silver Bell in 2000 and intended to be the follow-up to her hard-rocking 1998 sophomore release, Flaming Red.  The album was not released by A&M Records, a victim of the label’s turn-of-the-century ownership change, and until now, it has remained a missing piece from Griffin’s acclaimed catalog.  Newly mixed by legendary producer Glyn Johns, Silver Bell will be released for the first time on October 8 by Universal Music Enterprises across all major digital and physical music retailers.

Silver Bell features 14 original songs recorded at Daniel Lanois’ Kingsway Studio in New Orleans by Griffin on vocals, guitar and piano with guitarist Doug Lancio, keyboardist John Deaderick, bassist Frank Swart, and percussionist Billy Beard.  Emmylou Harris also joined Griffin in the studio to sing harmony on Truth #2.
Since parting with A&M, Griffin has continued her successful, critically-acclaimed career, releasing 1000 KissesImpossible DreamChildren Running Through, the Grammy® Award winningDowntown Church, and her latest album, American Kid, released in May.