Tue. Apr 23rd, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Bryan Adams Releases Details of New Cover Album

2 min read

(UK) Multi-platinum recording-artist Bryan Adams has announced the release of his new covers album, “Tracks Of My Years”, a diverse collection of time honoured classics from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s.

The eleven-track album will be released October 6th through Polydor Records and features a wide range of influential musical styles, from Chuck Berry’s “Rock & Roll Music”, Ray Charles’ “I Can’t Stop Loving You” to The Beatles’ “Any Time At All”. The album will also include a brand new track entitled, “She Knows Me” co-written with Adams’ long-term writing partner Jim Vallance. The Adams/Vallance partnership was responsible for many of Bryan’s classic hits including “Heaven”, “Summer of ‘69” and “Run To You”.

A lavish deluxe version of “Tracks of My Years” will also be made available, with five additional cover songs packaged in a hardback book, containing sleevenotes from Adams alongside retro-style 7-inch single covers.

“Making the selection of the songs for the album took a long time” noted Bryan.  “We recorded all kinds of songs until the songs sort of presented themselves, or sounded different enough from the originals.  We did about 3 months of recording, spread out over the course of 2 years.  Radio was king when I was a teenager,” Adams reflected, “you’d hear McCartney’s “Admiral Halsey” straight into “Kiss and Say Goodbye” by the Manhattans. Radio didn’t discriminate back then”.

“Tracks of My Years” is an eclectic mix of songs reflective of the time when rock was played alongside pop, country and R&B, and follows Adams’ critically acclaimed acoustic album, 2010’s “Bare Bones”, a release that resulted in sold out shows across Europe, North America, Australia and South Africa.

Bryan Adams is one of the world’s most highly acclaimed singer/songwriters. In a career that has spanned more than four decades, Adams music has achieved #1 status in over 40 countries and sold in excess of 65 million records.  He has toured six continents, is a Grammy and Juno award winner and has been nominated for Academy Awards and Golden Globes.  Adams has been awarded The Order of Canada, he has a Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Canadian Walk of Fame and his handprints are in Wembley’s Square of Fame.

Tracks Of My Years Tracklisting:

1)  Any Time At All

2)  She Knows Me

3)  I Can’t Stop Loving You

4)  Kiss And Say Goodbye

5)  Lay Lady Lay

6)  Rock And Roll Music

7)  Down On The Corner

8)  Never My Love

9)  Sunny

10) The Tracks Of My Tears

11) God Only Knows