Sun. Jun 16th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

Single Review: Dane Rumble – ‘The Experiment EP’

3 min read

Dane Rumble is a name that we are going to be hearing a lot this year. Already achieving a superstar status back in his homeland of New Zealand the singer has been riding high on the waves of success for the best part of a decade now. As part of the hip hip collective Fast Crew, Rumble has quickly solidified his position as a pivitol clonk in the kiwi music market.

Since Fast Crew disbanded back in 2008 Rumble has been busy making a name for himself as a solo star and has been garnishing the Australasian charts with hit after hit of hip hop flavored pop monsters such as Always Be Here, Don’t Know What To Do and the massive Top 5 hit, Cruel.

Rumble released his debut album The Experiment in March of 2010 to critical acclaim and achieved a number one status for his efforts. As the worldwide market calls, Rumble has set his sights on cracking the UK market. Unfortunately the full album is on the sidelines for us over here in the UK but what we do get however is a mini collection of Rumble’s hits in a neat, glossy little EP.

The Experiment EP contains five of Rumble’s hits to date. Starting with his debut single Always Be Here, the singer offers us a catchy pop number that sits vocally rigorous behind a riff heavy intro. Rumble jumps into the track with his quick delivered hip hop flavored rhyming within a beefy hook laden chorus that’s as catchy as pop records get. Always Be Here is acting as Rumble’s debut single and will no doubt cause the same hype in the UK as it did when it was released is his homeland.

Synths and digital effects take over the EP with the syrupy, Let You Down. Taking on a mix of pop with an eighties classic rock vibe the track is one of Rumble’s best numbers with its anthemic feel and an impressive intrumentation combining spacey effects, rolling drums, complimenting harmonies and whirling guitars as well as Rumble’s meaty vocals providing a solid addition to the mini collection.

Another of Rumbles signature hits, Don’t Know What To Do is inserted as the central filling to the EP. This one is a monster of a track that is slightly more stripped back that the rest of the track-listing but packs one hell of a punch. Here we get to see just what the singer is all about as his vocals, crisp and refined, form the epicentre of the song with the melodic and staccato heaving backdrop of guitars and drums allowing us to sit back and bask in Rumbles precise vocal skills.

The storming Live A Lie shows a rougher edged Rumble who enlists some grinding guitars to support him throughout the track. Live A Lie is the most uptempo and rock influenced number on The Experiment EP however still draws in a fair amount of Rumbles pop roots.

Closing the record Rumble has selected the riff opening Everything (Take Me Down). Providing a slice of semi-balladry we get a glimpse into Rumble’s softer side. Though still a slightly upbeat number it showcases the singers sentimental nature as he declares ‘everything will always be alright’ as the thumping drum beat that forms the backbone of the track carries us through four minutes of pop artistry.

Though we are only garnished with five tracks as an introduction to the latest pop offering from the land of the long white cloud the tracks contained within Rumble’s The Experiment EP give us a glimpse into the rising career of one of the best pop exports from New Zealand in some years and we will no doubt be hearing a lot more than just a rumble from Dane throughout 2011.