Sat. Apr 13th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Red Sky July To Appear As Special Guests of 10cc On Their Upcoming UK Tour

3 min read

(UK) Alongside recently announced support slots with multi-Grammy-winning singer/songwriter Sheryl Crow, an announcement of their very own headline tour and straight off the back of hitting the road with the legendary Steve Earle, alt-country trio Red Sky July have just received the honour of appearing as special guests to iconic rock troupe 10cc. The band – which is formed of husband and wife Ally McErlaine (formerly of multi-million selling band Texas) and Shelley Poole (one half of million-selling duo Aisha’s Attic), along with former model and member of The Alice Band, Charity Hair – will accompany the influential four piece on 15 dates of their October/November tour.

Both critically lauded and commercially popular, 10cc are one of the most successful and innovative bands in the history of UK music. With stratospheric hits such as the classic ballad of ‘I’m Not In Love’, the reggae grooves of ‘Dreadlock Holiday’, ‘Rubber Bullets’ and ‘The Things We Do For Love’, they’ve sold 30 million records in their 40 year career and are regarded as one of the most important groups to ever come from these shores.

Red Sky July released their latest album Shadowbirds on the 15th September 2014 to widespread critical acclaim, showcasing lush harmonies, melodic brilliance, carefully crafted songs and an Americana-inflected alt-country twang. Americana UK commented on the album’s ‘seamless female harmony vocals riding high on gentle, flowing country melodies’, Glasswerk reviewed it as a ‘beautiful collection of ten melodic and emotional songs’ and Renowned For Sound stated that Shadowbirds has ‘all the magic of Nashville with added soul’.

In addition to Red Sky July’s own previous headline national tours, support slots with the likes of Deacon Blue, James Walsh (Starsailor) preceded them joining Jools Holland as special guests on his UK summer tour and his sold out performance at the Royal Albert Hall in London. Most recently the trio toured with renowned Nashville singer/songwriter Beth Nielsen Chapman on her UK tour, both opening for her and performing as her band. Red Sky July also performed at the Scottish Music Awards where they were presented with a prestigious Tartan Clef award by Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy.

RED SKY JULY – TOUR DATES
October/November
* – With 10cc
# – With Sheryl Crow
For more information click here.

Saturday 4th October* – Aberdeen Music Hall, Aberdeen
TICKETS

Sunday 5th October* – Eden Court Theatre, Inverness
TICKETS

Monday 6th October – The Maze Forest Tavern, Nottingham
TICKETS

Tuesday 7th October – The Musician, Leicester
TICKETS

Wednesday 8th October – Elgar Room, Royal Albert Hall, London
TICKETS

Thursday 9th October* – Derngate Auditorium
TICKETS

Friday 10th October* – Stevenage Concert Hall, Stevenage
TICKETS

Sunday 12th October* – Orchard Theatre, Dartford
TICKETS

Monday 13th October* – Ipswich Regent, Ipswich
TICKETS

Tuesday 14th October* – Colosseum, Watford
TICKETS

Tuesday 21st October* – Southsea Kings Theatre
TICKETS

Wednesday 22nd October – St George’s Hall, Bradford
TICKETS

Thursday 23rd October – Opera House, Buxton
TICKETS

Monday 27th October# – Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow
TICKETS

Tuesday 28th October# – Sage, Gateshead
TICKETS

Wednesday 29th October# – Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
TICKETS

Thursday 30th October# – The Ritz, Manchester
TICKETS

Friday 31st October# – London Bluesfest, Royal Albert Hall
TICKETS

Saturday 1st November* – Doncaster Dome
TICKETS

Sunday 2nd November – The Atkinson, Southport (With Mary Gauthier)
TICKETS

Monday 3rd November* – Crawley Hawth Theatre
TICKETS

Tuesday 4th November* – Reading Hexagon
TICKETS

Thursday 6th November* – Chatham Central Theatre
TICKETS

Friday 7th November* – Margate Winter Gardens
TICKETS

Thursday 13th November – St Donat’s Arts Centre, Cardiff
TICKETS

Friday 14th November – The Forge, Basingstoke
TICKETS

Sunday 16th November – The Torphichen Inn West Lothian
TICKETS

Monday 17th November – Backstage at The Green Hotel, Kinross
TICKETS

Tuesday 18th November – Cottiers Theatre, Glasgow
TICKETS

Friday 28th November – Swiss Cottage, Twyford, Hampshire

Monday 08th December – The Stables, Milton Keynes
TICKETS