Thu. Jul 18th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Natalie Imbruglia Confirms New Studio Album ‘Male’

2 min read

(AUS) Sony Music Entertainment Australia has announced that three-time Grammy nominee, songwriter, actor and model, Natalie Imbruglia has released the stunning brand new video for ‘Instant Crush’, the lead single from her recently announced forthcoming studio album entitled Male. Fans are able to purchase Male from Friday August 21st 2015.

The video for ‘Instant Crush’ is available to view now, and the single is available to purchase from Friday June 29th. Fans who pre-order the album Male will receive the first single as an instant grat on that date.‘Instant Crush’ was originally recorded by the electro-pop Grammy winners Daft Punk. The song was written by the duo’s Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo, along with The Strokes’ Julian Casablancas who also sang on the original track.

Of the Mad Men-esque video treatment Natalie says, “Joe Stephenson, the director is an immense talent. I fell in love with his treatment. The dark Stepford wives vibe, and his reference of Gregory Crewdson’s photography. Such beautiful colours and mood. It’s so cinematic and gives the song a whole new dimension.”

[youtube id=”nkBxRHvdvXM” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Of her unique take on the song, Imbruglia says, “On the original version, you can’t really hear what the song is about because of the effect that Julian’s voice has, which I love, by the way. However, it is such a beautiful story that I want people to hear it and connect with the words. I’m really proud of the way it turned out.”

Imbruglia finds inspiration for her new album from her favorite male artists. Male, her first album since 2009, is a collection of classic and contemporary songs all performed by men including those of Cat Stevens, Damien Rice, Tom Petty, Pete Townsend and Zac Brown Band among others. It is produced by Billy Mann, who has also worked with artists like Pink, John Legend, Celine Dion, Martina McBride, and Sting, among others.

The release of Male will be supported by a worldwide tour starting in late 2015 with more details to be released shortly.


1. Instant Crush (original artist Daft Punk)
2. Cannonball (original artist Damien Rice)
3. The Summer (original artist Josh Pyke)
4. I Will Follow You Into The Dark (original artist Death Cab For Cutie)
5. Goodbye In His Eyes (original artist Zac Brown Band)
6. Friday I’m In Love (original artist The Cure)
7. Naked As We Came (original artist Iron & Wine)
8. Let My Love Open The Door (original artist Pete Townsend)
9. Only Love Can Break Your Heart (original artist Neil Young)
10. I Melt With You (original artist Modern English)
11. The Waiting (original artist Tom Petty)
12. The Wind (original artist Cat Stevens)

Pre-order links: iTunes | JB Hi-Fi | Sanity