Mon. Mar 4th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Magic Man To Release New Album ‘Before The Waves’

2 min read

(AUS) US synth-pop five piece Magic Man will release their Columbia Records debut album, Before The Waves, on April 10 through Sony Music Entertainment Australia.

The album was produced by Alex Aldi (Passion Pit, Holy Ghost!), who also worked with the band on their You Are Here EP. Among the 12 tracks is their single ‘Paris,’ which Rolling Stone compares to “the electric-meets-electronic sound of the Postal Service… The swirling layers of synths, which constantly rush behind Caplow’s vaporous voice, give the whole track a hazy vibe.” Before The Waves also features the standout track ‘Texas’ and current single ‘Tonight’.

[youtube id=”Wp_S_8VG96Q” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Magic Man are currently on their US headline tour, after completing their 2014 dates on The Gospel Tour with Panic! At The Disco and Walk The Moon. Magic Man have also toured with MS MR, Ra Ra Riot, St. Lucia and New Politics.

New England-based Magic Man was started by childhood friends Alex Caplow (vocals) and Sam Vanderhoop Lee (guitars and keyboards) while they traveled abroad trading labour for room and board on a series of French organic farms, creating the music for what would become Magic Man during their travels. Now they’re living a particularly lucid version of that childhood dream – playing summer amphitheaters all over the country with three of their friends (Gabe Goodman on bass, Justine Bowe on keyboard and Joey Sulkowski on drums).


1. Texas
2. Apollo
3. Paris
4. Catherine
5. Chicagoland
6. Honey
7. Tonight
8. Every Day
9. Out of Mind
10. Waves
11. Too Muc
12. It All Starts Here