Thu. Apr 25th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: John Mellencamp’s ‘Plain Spoken’ is on its way

2 min read

(U.S) John Mellencamp will release one of the most distinguished records of his career, Plain Spoken on September 23. This is his 22nd full-length album and first release for Republic Records.

Plain Spoken includes ten stunningly elegant and soul-searching Americana gems. On its release in September, Plain Spoken will be available in a 10-track edition on CD, vinyl and download. Lead track, ‘Troubled Man’ is available on iTunes August 19 and impacts radio on September 8.

Plain Spoken is the first album from the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer since 2010’s critically acclaimed, No Better Than This — which landed in the Top 10 of Billboard’s Top 200 during release week and garnered the honor of becoming one of Rolling Stone’s “Best Albums of 2010”.

In 2014, he also signed a historic “lifetime recording contract” with Republic Records for the release of Plain Spoken and all of his albums to follow. Universal Music Enterprises continues to represent the artist’s prominent catalog as well. Mercury/UME recently released his latest live album, John Mellencamp Sings Trouble No More Live at Town Hall, this past summer.

Plain Spoken, once again, is John Mellencamp speaking right from the heart and to the world.

1.    Troubled Man
2.    Sometimes There’s God
3.    The Isolation of Mister
4.    The Company of Cowards
5.    Tears In Vain
6.    The Brass Ring
7.    Freedom Of Speech
8.    Blue Charlotte
9.    The Courtesy of Kings
10.  Lawless Times