Fri. Mar 1st, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Boyzone To Release New Motown Collection ‘Dublin To Detroit’

3 min read

(AUS) Boyzone continue their career renaissance following on from last year’s 250,000 selling anniversary collection BZ20 with the release of their brand new studio album, Dublin To Detroit due on November 21 on East West Records.

This will be the Boyz first themed album in their 20 year career, Dublin To Detroit finds Boyzone’s sumptuous vocal harmonies soaring through a collection of freshly updated classics from Motown’s sensational songbook. Produced by their BZ20 collaborator Brian Rawling at Metrophonic, Dublin To Detroit is packed with hits from start to finish, including eternal favourites; The Supremes’ You Can’t Hurry Love, Jimmy Ruffin’s What Becomes of the Broken Hearted, Jackie Wilson’s Higher and Higher and Reach Out (I’ll Be There) by The Four Tops.

The collection sees the quartet revisit the roots of their success as Boyzone’s take on The Four Seasons’ hit Working My Way Back To You was their debut single back in 1994 and ignited their subsequent career by hitting #3 in their homeland of Ireland. The Boyz performed a Motown Medley at the MTV Music Awards at Alexandra Palace in 1996, then kept it as part of their set during their A Different Beat tour later that year. Their love of the genre was further demonstrated earlier this summer when Ronan Keating and Shane Lynch appeared as guests on the ITV special ‘The Nation’s Favourite Motown Songs’.

‘We feel very lucky to have been given the chance to record such an amazing collection of songs for our new ‘Dublin To Detroit’ album. We could easily have done eleven more great tracks from that era but we hope there’s something for everyone in the choices we made. We now just can’t wait for the chance to perform them live for all our great Boyzone fans around the world.’

Boyzone recently completed a great summer of live outdoor shows including a special guest performance at the British Summertime Festival in London’s Hyde Park. The Boyz continue to enjoy great success away from the band with Keith starring in the acclaimed stage show A Handful Of Stars at London’s Trafalgar Studios, Shane helping drive his Monster Energy sponsored Team Japspeed car to the British Drift Championship and Ronan taking on the lead role of ‘Guy’ in the Olivier Award winning production of Once in the West End this November.

Boyzone ‘Dublin To Detroit’ Track Listing:

1. What Becomes of the Broken Hearted – originally by Jimmy Ruffin
2. Tracks of My Tears – originally by Smokey Robinson and The Miracles
3. You Can’t Hurry Love – originally by The Supremes
4. This Old Heart of Mine – originally by The Isley Brothers
5. Just My Imagination – originally by The Temptations
6. Higher and Higher – originally by Jackie Wilson
7. I’m Doin’ Fine Now – originally by New York City
8. Reach Out (I’ll Be There) – originally by The Four Tops
9. The Tears of a Clown – originally by Smokey Robinson and The Miracles
10. Wherever I Lay My Hat – originally by Marvin Gaye
11. What Christmas Means To Me – originally by Stevie Wonder