Fri. Oct 30th, 2020

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Melanie C Announces Headline Tour Dates and Global Album Launch Shows

3 min read

Melanie C has today announced details of a UK and European headline tour for spring 2021. Sporty has also confirmed plans for four global live-streams to coincide with the release of her hugely anticipated self-titled album on October 2nd (with a full-band set and plenty of surprises to be revealed). Pre-sale to the 2021 headline shows begins on August 26th at 9AM BST, with general sale on August 28th: tickets for the live streams are also available via her official website, https://melaniec.net/.

‘Melanie C’ was launched in spectacular style recently with latest single ‘In And Out Of Love’ (and its socially distanced video shot up at London’s Alexandra Palace). The album also includes empowering recent single ‘Blame It On Me’ – which went top 20 on UK airplay – and the album’s defiantly reflective first single, ‘Who I Am’ (which also went number 1 on iTunes worldwide). Having appeared on the likes of ‘The Late Late Show With James Corden’ to BBC 1’s ‘The One Show’, Melanie has also brought fans around the world together under Covid: whether leading Q&As on physical and mental wellbeing, the next generation of Girl Power (see an interview with Rina Sawayama for Crack Magazine), the realities of life in lockdown (she recently spoke to Daisy May Ridley for the ‘Happy Place’ festival) or putting together a specialist DJ mix for i-D Magazine.

Channelling a life-long love of disco, electronic music and anthemic pop, Melanie C’s new album is a journey of introspection, growth and acceptance. It’s a point reflected in her choice of collaborators on the project, which range from Nadia Rose and Shura to remixes from the likes of Joe Goddard (as well as reuniting with longtime collaborator Richard “Biff” Stanndard”). An artist who’s at home presenting her friend Billie Eilish with a BRIT Award as she is lending her vital voice to the modern discourse on depression, body positivity, and the LGBTQ community, Melanie C’s trailblazing influence has never been more apparent. With over 100 million records sold and multiple BRIT, Ivor, Billboard and Olivier Awards under her belt, this nonetheless feels like new, more assured ground for Melanie C – and a glorious new chapter for Girl Power.

‘Melanie C’ – Album Launch Shows

October 1st
Live Stream #1 : UK and Europe : 8pm BST / 9pm CET
Live Stream #2 :US East Coast & South America : 8pm EDT / 7pm CDT
Live Stream #3 : US West Coast and Central America : 8pm PDT / 9pm MDT

October 2nd
Live Stream #4 : Aus/ NZ and Asia : 8pm AEST / 10pm NZST / 7pm JST & KST

‘Melanie C’ – Headline Tour

April 28th || Lisbon || Teatro Capitolio
April 29th || Madrid || La Riviera
May 1st || Barcelona || Sala Apolo
May 3rd || Lyon || Le Transbordeur
May 4th || Paris || Alhambra
May 6th || Munich || Technikum
May 7th || Zurich || Mascotte
May 8th || Milan || Magazzini Generali
May 10th || Berlin || Festsaal Kreuzberg
May 11th || Bremen || Burgerhaus
May 13th || Oslo || Parkteatret
May 14th || Stockholm || Nalen
May 15th || Copenhagen || Amager Bio
May 17th || Cologne || Live Music Hall
May 18th || Antwerp || Trix Club
May 19th || Amsterdam || Melkweg – Oude Zaal
May 21st || Birmingham || O2 Birmingham Institute
May 22nd || Glasgow || SWG3 TV Studio
May 24th || Manchester || O2 Ritz
May 25th || London || Shepherd’s Bush Empire