Thu. Jul 18th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Xavier Rudd & The United Nations To Tour With New Album ‘Nanna’

2 min read

(AUS) Xavier Rudd has announced details of his new album Nanna, and the subsequent national Nanna Tour this March & April. Nanna is out in Australia independently on March 13th via Salt X/Universal. Internationally, Xavier Rudd & The United Nations are excited to announce their new home at Nettwerk for North America, the UK and Europe.

Xavier Rudd’s eighth studio album, Nanna, was mixed by living legend Errol Brown at the Tuff Gong Studios and follows the wildly successful #2 Gold-selling album Spirit Bird (2012). Spirit Bird was led by the huge single “Follow The Sun”, which went Gold in Australia, reached Platinum sales in Italy and led Xavier Rudd to his largest touring itinerary to date, covering every continent during a 30-month world tour.

Xavier Rudd NannaThe first taste from Nanna is the aptly titled “Come People”. Straight out of the gate with a catchy chorus, “Come People” takes Xavier Rudd’s lyrical message and adorns it in hook after hook. The song slinks along with a seductive minor key swagger, to be given a spine-tingling lift as the key changes and Xavier sings, “I held that little girl / She was a message in my dreaming / Bring my hands to namaste and I will graciously set you free.”

Nanna has been long awaited by Xavier Rudd fans, but even more so by the man himself. Last year, Xavier Rudd put out to the Universe that it was time to record his dream project and ancestors from around the world answered his call, delivering a collective of amazing musicians by way of his brand new band – The United Nations.

Featuring guitar, bass, drums, percussion, keys, horns, flute, saxophone and backing vocals, the appropriately titled Xavier Rudd & The United Nations bands together musicians from all corners of the globe representing the diverse cultures of Australia, Indigenous Australia, South Africa, Samoa, Germany and Papua New Guinea. The band is symbolic of the message that all people of the world can come together and return to spirit, respect the ancient ways, and protect the Earth and the very essence of creation. And, as always with Xavier Rudd, the music is as powerful as the message.

Now at the beginning of the next chapter in his career, the release of Nanna will take Xavier Rudd back out on the road, but as fans have never seen him before… in the role of front-man, amidst some of the best players in the world.


Tickets on sale Thursday 29 January

Thursday 19 March – The Forum Theatre, Melbourne VIC
Saturday 21 March – The Metro, Sydney NSW
Sunday 22 March – The Tivoli, Brisbane QLA
Friday 27 March – HQ Complex, Adelaide SA
Sunday 29 March – West Coast Blues & Roots, Fremantle WA
Sunday 5 April – Bluesfest, Byron Bay NSW


1. Flag
2. While I’m Gone
3. Hanalei
4. Come People
5. Sacred
6. Nanna
7. Rusty Hammer
8. Rainbow Serpent
9. Creancient
10. Warrior
11. Struggle
12. Radiate
13. Bundagen

Exclusive pre-sale packages available from Friday 6 February.