Mon. Apr 22nd, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: ‘When I Get My Hands On You’ Released from ‘Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes’

2 min read

(US) “When I Get My Hands On You,” the third premiere from the forthcoming ‘Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes’, has been released today as both an instant grat track on iTunes and Amazon and as a lyric video on Vevo. The debut of “When I Get My Hands On You,” featuring lead vocal by Marcus Mumford, follows the release of two previous tracks from the forthcoming album: “Nothing To It,” with Jim James singing lead, and “Married To My Hack,” fronted by Elvis Costello.

Lost On The River The New Basement TapesThis album event from The New Basement Tapes — Elvis Costello, Rhiannon Giddens (Carolina Chocolate Drops), Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes), Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Marcus Mumford (Mumford & Sons), and producer T Bone Burnett — was founded on a treasure trove of recently discovered lyrics handwritten by Bob Dylan in 1967 during the period that generated the recording of his original ‘Basement Tapes’.

Embracing an extraordinary opportunity to collaborate with the 26-year old Bob Dylan, Burnett and the artists – dubbing their collective ‘The New Basement Tapes’ – convened in March at Capitol Studios in Hollywood to write and create music together for the long-lost Dylan lyrics. Dozens of new songs were completed and recorded by ‘The New Basement Tapes’ during a two-week period, with the artists swapping instrumental and vocal roles on the tracks throughout the marathon sessions.

The album will be accompanied by a Showtime documentary premiering on November 21, titled, ‘Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued’, directed by Sam Jones (the Wilco documentary, I Am Trying To Break Your Heart). The film will present an exclusive and intimate look at the making of ‘Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes’ set against the influential and historical cultural backdrop of Bob Dylan’s original ‘Basement Tapes’.

‘Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes’ is a music event 47 years in the making. The album celebrates the discovery of never-seen Bob Dylan lyrics from that legendary 1967 period and marks a creative highpoint for the album’s participants – Burnett, Costello, Giddens, Goldsmith, James and Mumford – who have brought them to life nearly 50 years later.

‘Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes’ Tracklisting:
1. Down On The Bottom
2. Married To My Hack
3. Kansas City
4. Spanish Mary
5. Liberty Street
6. Nothing To It
7. Golden Tom – Silver Judas*
8. When I Get My Hands On You
9. Duncan and Jimmy
10. Florida Key
11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
12. Lost On The River #12
13. Stranger
14. Card Shark
15. Quick Like A Flash*
16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16*
17. Diamond Ring*
18. The Whistle Is Blowing*
19. Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)
20. Lost On The River #20
* Not available on 15-track standard edition of the album.