Sat. Jun 15th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: The Smashing Pumpkins Unveil ‘Being Beige’ From Upcoming Album ‘Monuments to an Elegy’

1 min read

The Smashing Pumpkins yesterday unveiled ‘Being Beige’, the first single from the band’s forthcoming album ‘Monuments to an Elegy’, out 8th December (UK),  9th December (US) and 12th December (AUS).  The album is available for pre-order here

[soundcloud url=”″ comments=”true” auto_play=”false” color=”ff7700″ width=”100%” height=”81″]

The Smashing Pumpkins Monuments to an Elegy‘Monuments to an Elegy’ (with artwork photographed by Corgan) marks the iconic alternative band’s eighth studio album and is the follow-up to their 2012 critically acclaimed album ‘Oceania’. The new album was recorded in Chicago with Smashing Pumpkins guitarist Jeff Schroeder, who’s been in the band since 2007. Playing drums throughout is Tommy Lee.

The album was produced by Howard Willing (who first worked with the Pumpkins on the ‘Adore’ sessions), Corgan and Schroeder. It was mixed by David Bottrill and mastered by Howie Weinberg, who did the same honours for Pumpkins classics in the ‘90s. ‘Monuments to an Elegy’ is “an album within an album”, part of their ongoing work-in-progress Teargarden By Kaleidyscope (with Day For Night as the project’s last work).

‘Monuments to an Elegy’ track listing:
1. Tiberius
2. Being Beige
3. Anaise!
4. One and All
5. Run2me
6. Drum + Fife
7. Monuments
8. Dorian
9. Anti-Hero