Mon. Jun 24th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Sam Smith To Release Special Edition Of Album

2 min read

November 6th sees global popstar Sam Smith release “In The Lonely Hour: The Drowning Shadows Edition” – the extended version of his chart topping album containing a second CD of new and exclusive tracks.

The exciting new album features an exclusive new track “Drowning Shadows”, co-written by Smith and Fraser T. Smith and produced by Jimmy Napes and Steve Fitzmaurice. “Drowning Shadows” elegantly opens the second disc of the extended edition and is a stripped back, heart wrenching ballad that debuts Sam’s impressive vocals over cascading strings and piano. “The Drowning Shadows Edition” also includes Sam Smith’s breath-taking covers of Amy Winehouse’s ‘Love Is A Losing Game’ and Whitney Houston’s ‘How Will I Know?’ alongside collaborations with A$AP Rocky, Mary J Blige and John Legend.

Sam Smith In The Lonely Hour Drowning Shadows

Sam Smith approaches the end of 2015 in celebratory style having sold over 9 million copies worldwide of his debut album ‘In The Lonely Hour‘ which notched up a record-breaking 69 consecutive week in the Official Albums Chart Top 10 – the longest unbroken run ever for a debut album. Sam has gone from newcomer to international superstar having now earnt four No.1 UK singles, four Grammy Awards, three Brit Awards, six MOBO Awards, GQ’s Solo Artist of the Year, Q and AMA Awards.

Sam Smith also announced recently that he is the latest in a long line of superstars to sing the James Bond theme song. Smith has released “Writing’s On The Wall“, the bond theme song for the forthcoming ‘Spectre‘ film making it the first James Bond theme song recorded by a British male solo artist since 1965.