Tue. Apr 23rd, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Prince Announces Two New Albums

2 min read

Music icon Prince today announces not one, but two brand new studio albums to be released globally September 26, and September 29 in the UK.  The much-anticipated albums are solo record Art Official Age and PLECTRUMELECTRUM  by Prince’s new band 3RDEYEGIRL. Both albums will be sold separately and are available for pre-order now.

2014 has been one of the most exciting years yet for the prodigious musical talent.  Together with 3RDEYEGIRL, he rocked UK and European audiences into a frenzy with his sell-out ‘Hit & Run’ tours, generating some of the most significant critical acclaim of his career so far.  In April, NPG Music Publishing was launched, marking the first time Prince’s vast publishing catalog has been independently controlled and administered in over twenty years.  All of this in addition to headlining and curating the Essence Festival on July 4th in New Orleans and a much talked about appearance on hit TV show ‘New Girl’.  2014 has underlined that Prince continues to innovate and surprise, thrilling his fans and welcoming a whole new audience in the process. 

In releasing two albums on the same day fans get the chance to savor the many different aspects of Prince’s musical talents with Art Official Age and PLECTRUMELECTRUM offering two very distinct listening experiences.

Art Official Age is a classic Prince album, produced, arranged, composed and performed by Prince and Joshua Welton. Sonically the record is a contemporary concoction of soul, R&B and funk.  The melodies are immediate and prominent as ever and Prince’s vocals are rich and solid, taking full advantage of his vocal range with decidedly seductive lyrics.

PLECTRUMELECTRUM is a classic band record with 3RDEYEGIRL which include Prince, Donna Grantis (guitar), Hannah Ford Welton (drums) and Ida Nielsen (bass).  Recorded live and in analog the album is an electrifying funk-rock statement. Many of the tracks from PlectrumElectrum were performed live on the recent sold out Hit & Run tour of the UK earlier this year which led The Guardian to declare “These are performances by one of the greatest funk-rock bands ever” and showered the group with 5-star reviews.

Track Listings: 

Art Official Age                            PLECTRUMELECTRUM

Art Official Cage                                Wow
Clouds                                                   PretzelBodyLogic
Breakdown                                          AintTurninAround
The Gold Standard                           PLECTRUMELECTRUM
U Know                                                 WhiteCaps
Breakfast Can Wait                           FixUrLifeUp
This Could Be Us                               BoyTrouble
What It Feels Like                            StopThisTrain
Affirmation I & II                             AnotherLove
Way Back Home                                TicTacToe
FUNKNROLL                                      MARZ
TIME                                                      FUNKNROLL
affirmation III