Wed. Jun 12th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Passion Pit To Release New Album ‘Kindred’

1 min read

(AUS) Sony Music Entertainment Australia has announced Kindred, the new album from Passion Pit will be released April 17th, 2015. Listen to the first track from the album, ‘Lifted Up (1985)’ NOW here. The album will be available for pre-order now!

Kindred was written and produced by Passion Pit creative force and front-man Michael Angelakos, and recorded in New York City. The album was also produced by longtime collaborators and co-producers Chris Zane and Alex Aldi, as well as Benny Blanco.

Kindred follows Passion Pit’s 2012 hits ‘Gossamer’ and ‘Take A Walk‘, which found the band selling out Madison Square Garden and appearing on Saturday Night Live in the US, and headlining at Parklife in Australia. In 2013, the band toured nationally including sold-out Splendour In The Grass in Byron Bay.

Angelakos’ songwriting process for Passion Pit has always been to filter and reshape. Many sounds on Kindred that one would assume are synths, are the remarkable notes of Angelakos’ voice, manipulated by computers and pedals. Angelakos frequently repurposes sound: using top 40 signifiers for outré ends, crushing weird natural and synthetic detritus together into pop (Brent Katz, liner notes, 2015). Angelakos’ recent collaborations include tracks with Skrillex and Madeon’s latest genius, ‘Pay No Mind‘.

1. Lifted Up (1985)
2. Whole Life Story
3. Where the Sky Hangs
4. All I Want
5. Five Foot Ten (I)
6. Dancing on the Grave
7. Until We Can’t (Let’s Go)
8. Looks Like Rain
9. My Brother Taught Me How To Swim
10. Ten Feet Tall (II)