Sat. Feb 24th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Major Lazer Announces New EP

1 min read

(Australia) Hot off the heels of their riotous Big Day Out and Australian side shows, Major Lazer has announced their first official release of 2014. The Apocalypse Soon EP is available Friday 21 February via Mad Decent / Warner Music Australia.

Coming off a 2013 that saw nearly 34 million Soundcloud streams outlined in a Next Big Sound analytics report that listed Major Lazer at #3 in streams overall, the new chapter begins where Major Lazer, led by Grammy nominated Diplo, left off in 2013.  Once again, Major Lazer has recruited some of the biggest names in music to collaborate on the five track EP including Pharrell Williams and Sean Paul as well as Machel Montano, RDX, Moska and Mr. Fox.

With every new beginning, one must come to an end, and with that, Major Lazer concludes their Lazer Strikes Back series with Lazer Strikes Back Vol. 6 – The Last Chapter; A collection of dub versions and remixes from last year’s Free The Universe.  These two outfits give Get Free, Jah No Partial, Bumaye and more, the international dub treatment to help usher in Apocalypse Soon.