Sat. Jun 22nd, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Fun Frontman Nate Ruess Heralds Debut Solo Album With New Single

2 min read

(US) GRAMMY® Award-winning recording artist Nate Ruess has announced the release of his debut solo album. Grand Romantic arrives on June 16th via Fueled By Ramen.

Grand Romantic is heralded by the new hit single, “Nothing Without Love,” which is currently ascending at multi-format radio outlets nationwide including Top 20 airplay at Alternative and Hot AC. In addition, the song’s companion video – directed by Anthony Mandler (fun., Rihanna, Taylor Swift) – has just been added at VH1, MTV Hits, and Fuse, with more than 2.8 million individual views online thus far. A behind-the-scenes of the making of the video premiered today via Complex.

Known around the globe as the singer/songwriter of indie pop supergroup fun., Ruess recently appeared as a “Key Advisor” role on NBC’s The Voice and performed “Nothing Without Love” live for the first time on TV at the iHeartRadio Music Awards.

[youtube id=”ssVvkfcL9HI” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Ruess is set to be honored with the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s prestigious “Hal David Starlight Award,” established to honor gifted songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs. Past awardees include 2014 honoree Imagine Dragons’ Dan Reynolds, Taylor Swift, John Legend, Alicia Keys, Ne-Yo, Drake, Benny Blanco, Jason Mraz, John Mayer, Rob Thomas and John Rzeznik. The 2015 Songwriters Hall of Fame Annual Induction and Awards Dinner will be held Thursday, June 18th in New York City.

Grand Romantic sees Ruess continuing to merge an array of distinct influences into his own voluminous pop songcraft. Inspired by new love, the in-demand singer/tunesmith – whose recent credits include P!nk’s GRAMMY®-nominated #1 hit, “Just Give Me A Reason (Feat. Nate Ruess),” Eminem’s “Headlights (Feat. Nate Ruess),” and Brian Wilson’s hugely anticipated new album, “NO PIER PRESSURE” – penned a series of ambitious songs that span sentimental standards to cinematic anthems.

The album sees widescreen production from longtime collaborators Jeff Bhasker (“SOME NIGHTS,” Beyoncé, Drake) and Emile Haynie (Eminem, Kanye West, Lana Del Rey) and contributions from such diverse artists as Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist Josh Klinghoffer and LL/Atlantic recording artist Lykke Li, both of whom guest on “Nothing Without Love.”