Mon. Feb 26th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Django Django Announce New Album ‘Born Under Saturn’

2 min read

Scottish four-piece Django Django have returned to announce their sophomore album, Born Under Saturn. The album is set for release May 1 (AUS), May 4 (UK) and May 5 (US). The album’s first single “First Light,” released last month, suggested the news was imminent. Born Under Saturn expands on the slippery, indefinable nature of their self-titled debut, applying all of it’s giddy art-rock imagination only across a much larger canvas.

Born Under Saturn is the work of a band fired up by confidence and experience and propelled way beyond their DIY roots. It has all of the imagination of their debut self-titled album but splashed across a larger canvas. “Once we got into the studio it became obvious it would be a bigger-sounding record,” says bassist Jim Dixon.

“When we were writing the lyrics there were lots of references to rebirth, turning a new page and starting something again,” says drummer and producer Dave Maclean. “I guess that’s something we all felt.”

[youtube id=”Cia-JqEp0hQ” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Recorded at Netil House in east London and Angelic Studios in Banbury, Born Under Saturn saw the song writing split four ways with Dave also producing the record. Lyrics often emerged naturally from the sound of the music. There are dark dramas like Found You, which draws on the myth of Faust’s deal with the devil, and Shot Down, a bloody tale of crime and betrayal. Jim wrote the sighingly beautiful Beginning to Fade while contemplating writer’s block and the atmospheric, synth-driven High Moon, says Dave, is about people who “come alive at night”.

Django Django’s debut album came out in January 2012 on Because Music and was lavished with praise. It was “updated psychedelia that beguiles and delights” (The Guardian), “consistently mind-melting and often brilliant” (Q), “bursting with ideas” (Pitchfork) and “gloriously, unpredictably new” (Mojo). By December it had been shortlisted for the Mercury Prize and named one of the albums of the year by Rolling Stone and NME. They became known from their electric live performances full of energy, and went on to play memorable shows at festivals across the globe including as Splendour in the Grass, Falls Festival, Glastonbury and Fuji Rock.

01. Giant
02. Shake and Tremble
03. Found You
04. First Light
05. Pause Repeat
06. Reflections
07. Vibrations
08. Shot Down
09. High Moon
10. Beginning to Fade
11. 4000 Years
12. Breaking The Glass
13. Life We Know

To pre-order Born Under Saturn click here.
For tour dates and more info click here.