Thu. May 30th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Brandi Carlile Details Upcoming Album ‘The Firewatcher’s Daughter’

2 min read

(UK) She was born in a rural town outside Seattle and after years busking as a teen at the world-famous Pike Place Market she hooked up with now longtime collaborators Tim and Phil Hanseroth, known as “The Twins.” Since then Carlile has toured with the likes of The Avett Brothers and Ray Lamontagne, performed at major festivals around the world, made records with uber-producers T Bone Burnett and Rick Rubin and garnered a legion of passionate fans including Graham Nash, Sheryl Crow and her childhood hero Elton John, who sang a duet with her on her last album. Despite all of this, the voice-in-a-million Brandi Carlile is still a ‘best kept secret’ this side of the Atlantic.

Brandi will release her fifth album ‘The Firewatcher’s Daughter’ on 2nd March ’15 on New York indie label ATO Records (Midlake, Alabama Shakes, Drive-By Truckers, My Morning Jacket et al). The 12-song album explodes with energy, urgency and pristine harmonies and represents the start of a fresh chapter for Carlile.

The result is immediate and electrifying. “The Eye,” a song influenced by Crosby, Stills and Nash, is so intimate and hushed you can hear the quiver of Brandi’s voice in a flawless 3-part harmony. The creative spirit of the album is also exemplified in Brandi’s sold-out Pin Drop Tour, which wowed audiences in the States this autumn. Playing historic rooms, Brandi and her band performed songs new and old without any amplification – no mics, no amps, no PA – relying only on their voices, acoustic instruments and the venues themselves. The Chicago Tribune attributed Carlile to proving “that sometimes music has more to say than speakers can communicate.”

[youtube id=”Wl_eNu4NUVI” width=”620″ height=”360″]

‘The Firewatcher’s Daughter’ follows 2012’s ‘Bear Creek, which debuted in the Billboard Top 10 and was hailed both “gorgeous” by Rolling Stone and “tremendously assured” by NPR. Brandi has sold out multiple nights at legendary Red Rocks and New York’s Beacon Theater, as well as performing at festivals including Bonnaroo, Austin City Limits and more.

‘The Firewatcher’s Daughter’ track listing:
1 Wherever Is Your Heart
2 The Eye
3 The Things I Regret
4 Mainstream Kid
5 Beginning To Feel The Years
6 Wilder (We’re Chained)
7 Blood Muscle Skin & Bone
8 I Belong To You
9 Alibi
10 The Stranger At My Door
11 Heroes And Songs
12 Murder In The City

Click here to pre-order ‘The Firewatcher’s Daughter’ & immediately download “The Eye”.