Sat. Apr 13th, 2024

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Annie Lennox Sets Release Date For Seventh Solo Album ‘Nostalgia’

2 min read

Following the announcement of the release of her seventh solo album, ‘Nostalgia’, Annie Lennox now offers fans a first listen to some of the tracks on the album in a trailer which premieres today on her newly launched website. An online companion to the album, the site features track-by-track song histories, beautiful photography and artwork, in addition to videos and expanded song descriptions by Lennox. New content will be added on a regular basis leading up to the release of ‘Nostalgia’ on October 27th 2014.

For those in the US, Nostalgia will be released on September 30 on VINYL– the format the album was intended to be heard in – allowing listeners to experience Lennox’s interpretations of these classic songs as they would have sounded when they were first introduced in the 1930s, 1940s and 1950s. The album will be available digitally, on CD and in a deluxe CD/DVD edition on October 21 (internationally).

Annie Lennox NostalgiaProduced by Lennox and frequent collaborator Mike Stevens, the 12-track ‘Nostalgia’ is a collection of the legendary singer-songwriter’s impassioned takes on iconic American compositions that still continue to resonate in our complex contemporary world – songs like ‘Memphis In June’, ‘Strange Fruit’, ‘I Can Dream, Can’t I?’ and ‘God Bless The Child’.

Instant Grat of lead album track ‘I Put A Spell on You’ is now live on iTunes.

On Nostalgia, Annie pays tribute to some of the finest composers and artists of the 20th century – including Hoagy Carmichael, Duke Ellington, George Gershwin and Billie Holiday –and interprets compositions that have moved her, stripping them down to their emotional and musical core and making them her own.


1. Memphis In June
2. Georgia On My Mind
3. I Put A Spell On You
4. Summertime
5. I Cover The Waterfront
6. Strange Fruit
7. God Bless The Child
8. You Belong To Me
9. September In The Rain
10. I Can Dream, Can’t I?
11. The Nearness Of You
12. Mood Indigo