Fri. Aug 7th, 2020

Renowned For Sound

For the latest music reviews and interviews

News: Sweet Billy Pilgrim Announce Tour

2 min read

(UK) Sweet Billy Pilgrim set out on a UK tour this September following the release of their fourth album – the critically acclaimed masterpiece ‘Motorcade Amnesiacs’. Receiving stellar reviews, ‘Motorcade Amnesiacs’ is another incredible body of work that stands tall next to their previous albums, ‘Crown and Treaty’ which was awarded a coveted five stars by Mojo and the Mercury Music Prize-nominated predecessor ‘Twice Born Men’.

The new album sees the band stepping away from their previous electronic / acoustic experimentalism into a thriving accessible record that the Daily Mirror has stated as ”the best of their career”.

This is clear on the latest single ‘Just Above Midtown’ with Q magazine saying it “updates the winsome sound of mid-‘80s Prefab Sprout and is as close as they’ve come to an outright pop song”. The video was filmed in Vienna, London and the Home Counties and gives us a wistful and affecting behind-the-scenes insight into the world of the band, cut with live footage from their recent sold-out London show.

Not ones to respect musical boundaries, Sweet Billy Pilgrim have thrown every ounce of their belief and passion into the creative process resulting in the genre spanning excellence of ‘Motorcade Amnesiacs’. Now, with a performance at WOMAD and a full UK tour ahead in September, these beautifully crafted songs will come to life in their deserved setting.

[youtube id=”z_wkNw8xOrI” width=”620″ height=”360″]

TOUR DATES:

23-26 July – WOMAD (Elec and Acc performances)
Wed 2nd Sept – Manchester Ruby Lounge
Thurs 3rd Sep – London, 93 Feet East
Fri 4th Sep – Bristol, The Lantern / Colston Hall
Sat 5th Sep – Cardiff Club Ifor Bach
Sat 12th Sep – Aylesbury, Limelight
Mon 14th Sep – Leeds Brudenell
Tue 15th Sep – Brighton, Green Door Store
Wed 16th Sep – Guildford, St Mary’s Church
Thurs 17th Sep – Cambridge, Junction 2
Fri 18th Sep – Leicester, Donkey
Sun 20th Sep – Ramsbottom Festival

For more info click here.